People who do not know or understand the vegetarian lifestyle, tend to throw us all together under one term. This is not really correct, however. There are different kinds of vegetarians and if you or a friend don’t know the difference, you should keep reading. Today, we are educating our non-vegetarian friends on the different types of vegetarians.
A semi-vegetarian is someone who is reducing their consumption of meat. There are two types of semi-vegetarians. Pollo-vegetarians don’t eat red meat or fish and only eats chicken. Pesco pollo vegetarians don’t eat red meat but eat fish and chicken.
Vegan is a lifestyle and refers to more than just eating differently. Being vegan means that you avoid all meat and other animal-related foods like eggs, dairy products, and any foods containing animal by-products. Vegans also avoid any other animal by-products like silk, wool, leather, etc.
This type of vegetarian avoids all meat, poultry, and fish. However, they do eat animal by-products such as eggs, milk, cheese, ice cream, and other dairy products. They also eat foods that contain these ingredients, for example, cake or bread.
Lacto vegetarians go a step further than the Lacto-Ovo vegetarians. They don’t eat meat, poultry, fish, eggs, or any food containing eggs. They will, however, still eat dairy products such as milk, cheese, yogurt, etc.
Raw Foods Diet
Some people adapt the vegetarian diet and decide to only eat raw foods. They still don’t eat meat, poultry, or fish, but they also don’t eat cooked vegetables. Other types of vegetarians will cook their food, while raw diet followers will not.
Fruitarians eat only fruits and vegetables that are actually fruits like tomatoes, avocados, and zucchini. They also eat seeds and nuts. Obviously, they don’t eat meat, poultry, or fish and only eat fruit.
These are the main types of vegetarians that you may come across. Not everyone is the same and not everyone chooses a vegetarian lifestyle for the same reasons.